

ARUNACHAL PRADESH STATE DENTAL COUNCIL RULES: 2014

INTRODUCTION

The Arunachal Pradesh Dental registration tribunal was constituted in the year 2007, vide notification no. APDC/OI/2007 & modified, dated on 25th March 2011 in order to register Dental Surgeons/Dental Hygienist/Dental Mechanic/ Dental Operating Room Assistant of Arunachal Pradesh either government/private practitioner and to constitute the regular Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council. The objective of the council is to regulate the profession of dentistry, to maintain professional conduct as well as code of ethics. The Dental council being a statutory body intends to serve the following purpose.

- Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council will maintain a state list of Dental Surgeons as well as Dental Hygienist and Dental Mechanic (Govt. /Private Practitioners) who are entitled to practice modern dentistry and will act as database for all dental surgeons who are practicing.
- Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council will monitor & regulate the quality of practice on modern system of dentistry in the state and also strive to protect the rights of registered practitioner e.g. from frivolous litigation etc.
- Henceforth, it will be mandatory for a Dental Surgeon/Dental Technician/ Hygienist practicing (Govt./private) in the state to mention Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council Registration Number on the body of any certificate/ documents he/she sign & as a practitioner without which such certificate will not have legal validity.

PART-I ARUNACHAL PRADESH STATE DENTAL COUNCIL RULES-2014.

In exercise of the power conferred by section 55 of the Dentist Act (Act No. 16 of 1948), the Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh hereby makes the Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council Rules, as follows-

1. Short title and commencement:

- (a) These rules may be called as **Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council (APSDC) Rules, 2014.**
- (b) These rules shall come into force on the date of their publication in the Official Gazette.
- (c) The council shall be constitute in accordance with section 21 of the Dentist Act 1948.

- 2. **Definition:** In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires -
- (a) Act, means the Dentist Act-1948 (Act No. 16 of 1948).
- (b) Council, means the Arunachal Pradesh State Dental Council constituted under section 21 of the Dentist Act.
- (c) State Govt. means the Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh.
- (d) Executive Council- means the Executive Committee of the Council constituted under section 29 of the Act.
- (e) Staff- means persons appointed including registrar under section 28 of the Act.
- (f) Member- means a member registered in the Arunachal Pradesh State Dental council Register.
- (g) President- means the president of the Council nominated or elected under section 25 of the Act.
- (h) Vice President- means the Vice President of the council nominated or elected under section 25 of the Act.
- (i) Registrar- means the registrar of the council.
- (j) Dentistry- includes
 - a) The performance of any operation on, and the treatment on any disease, deficiency or lesion of, human teeth or jaws or the performance of radiographic or in connection with human teeth or jaws or the oral cavity.
 - b) The giving of any anesthetics in connection with any such operation or treatment.
 - c) The mechanical construction or the renewal of artificial dentures or restorative dental appliance..
- (k) 'Dentist' (Dental Surgeon) means, a person who practices dentistry.
- (I) Dental hygienist—means a person not being a Dentist or a Medical Practitioner, who scales, cleans or polishes teeth or gives instruction in dental hygiene.
- (m) Dental mechanic—means a person makes or repair denture and dental appliance.
- (n) Register-means register maintained in the council.
- (o) Recognized dental qualification- means any qualification recognized by dental council of India
- (p) Recognized dental hygiene qualification—means a qualification recognized by the Dental Council of India under section 11 of the Act..
- (r) Recognized dental qualification-means recognized under the schedule part-I, subsection (1) of (2) section (b)
 - 2. **Office of the Council:** The office of the council shall be in the office premises of the Directorate of Health Services, Naharlagun.